



## DEPARTMENT OF BUSINESS AND INDUSTRY DIVISION OF INSURANCE

1818 East College Pkwy., Suite 103
Carson City, Nevada 89706
(775) 687-0700 • Fax (775) 687-0787
Website: doi.nv.gov
E-mail: insinfo@doi.nv.gov

Bulletin 17-002 May 31, 2017

## CERTIFICATE OF REGISTRATION FOR SERVICE CONTRACT PROVIDERS

This bulletin serves to remind service contract providers of the requirements for renewing a Certificate of Registration issued pursuant to Chapter 690C of the Nevada Revised Statutes.

Pursuant to NRS 690C.160(3), a Certificate of Registration to act as a service contract provider in Nevada is valid for *one year* after the Commissioner issues the certificate. A provider who wishes to renew its Certificate of Registration *must* submit the following to the Commissioner *on or before* the date the certificate expires:

- The renewal application on the form prescribed by the Commissioner;
- The renewal fee set forth in NRS 690C.160, currently \$1000; and
- The Administrative and Enforcement fee prescribed in NRS 680C.110(4)(y), currently \$1300.

There is no grace period for renewing a Certificate of Registration. If the renewal application and fees are not received by the Division of Insurance by the expiration date, the Certificate of Registration automatically *expires* as a matter of law, the provider's status changes to "inactive", and the provider is no longer lawfully allowed to issue, sell, or offer for sale service contracts in Nevada. A provider whose Certificate of Registration expires must surrender its original Certificate of Registration to the Division. After expiration occurs, a new application pursuant to NRS 690C.160 would be required in order to obtain a new Certificate of Registration.

A provider who continues to sell service contracts after its Certificate of Registration has expired is in violation of NRS 690C.150. In accordance with NRS 690C.325, the Commissioner may refuse to renew or may suspend, limit or revoke a provider's certificate for violation of any provision of Chapter 690C or may levy an administrative fine of \$1000 for each act or violation.

BARBARA D. RICHARDSON
Commissioner of Insurance